Live A Little

We spend too much time in this country doing things that we “need” and “gotta” do.  Enough of that!  I am sick of these things.  The more we do, the more people ask us to do and therefore, the more we feel that we “need” and “gotta” do.  What ever happened to “want“s and “can’t wait tos.  I don’t know either, but I’m bringing them back.

 

I was with my nephew yesterday for a little bit and he wanted to turn off the sound for the women’s soccer game so that he could listen to cartoons on the smaller TV.  It was funny to us because he asked us simply because it’s what he wanted.  He legitimately feels that he should get to do everything that he wants to do.  And to be honest…I had a very hard time telling him no!

Obviously this doesn’t work in real life, but still, who am I to tell him that he can’t just do what he wants to do.  I mean eventually I’ll be telling him as well as my own kids that they should “do what makes you happy“.  We have to find a happy balance between getting to do what we want and having to do what the must in order to survive and have positive relationships in this world.

We live in this huge contradictory world of wants and needs.  Sometimes, we think our wants and needs are our own, when they’re really someone elses.  Like someone pulled an inception (Great movie btw) on us and planted their own personal agenda into our heads.  Somewhere along the line of following our dreams, we get twisted and turned and redirected towards “need to do“s and “gottas do“s.

I’m reminded of a scene from one of my favorite movies called Chocolat.  The grandmother is talking to her grandson who isn’t supposed to be talking to her according to his mother.  He also is not supposed to have chocolate, so when his grandmother asks if he would like some cake he responds, “I’m not supposed to.”  She then says the two most important lines in that movie.

Don’t worry so much about ‘not supposed to’.  Live a little.”

I think we all need to just live a little.

 

Leave a Reply

