So attractive

So, I come from a pretty athletic family (I dunno about mom, but if  her punch is as heavy as her bark…she could have been a boxer!) and L is was a college tennis player.  I am the most athletic person to never be an athlete, but for some reason in the past (a long time ago, don’t worry) I dated lots of athletes.  College athletes, pro athletes (female sports), high school athletes.  For some reason that’s what I have always been attracted to.

When I found out L was a college tenniser, I was hooked.  She still beats the sauce out of me when we play.  I think that I am pretty good, but I really don’t know what I am doing out there.  I try to emulate her, and other pro tennis players and, I’m sure they’d be embarrassed by my emulations.

Well, last night we sat for about 40 minutes waiting for a tennis court.  After getting on we played for like 2 hours.  By the end we were both exhausted to say the very least.  We both played well, and we both worked so hard.

Then on the way home, while walking back, I realized that she was so happy.  She had fun.  I had fun.  We both were so tired and I had to get up early, and my knees were killing me, but it didn’t matter to us!  We were amazingly proud of each other!

I didn’t let her beat me, I tried so hard to win (she even secretly thinks I tried to cheat on the last point) but she pushed and beat me (as usual).  The best thing about us playing tennis is not the actual playing.  It’s seeing her “no quit” attitude.  It’s about seeing her fight to the end and getting angry at herself sometimes (even though it’s frustrating for me to watch). It’s about me playing so well that I make her even angrier! 🙂

Tennis is our way of challenging each other and proving to the other person, as well as ourselves, that we can and will overcome those challenges.

It’s all about us pushing each other and her doing all that she can to prove that she is worthy of all that she works for.  I don’t know if she knows it, but everyday she proves to me that she is the winner that I have always wished for.  She’s my little MVP!

Leave a Reply

