Adventures in parenting: Chapter 1: Lost in translation

Last week me and my three yr old nephew Miles spent the afternoon together. This was the first time me and him  really spent time together alone so I was probably just as nervous as my sister Gwen (heeeey!) was about it.  He is my parenting introduction….4 hours at a time

I am very glad to say that we both had a great time! Although, I realized that he is amazingly smart (every parent thinks their kid is smart, but this is my nephew, so I’m telling the truth).  Unfortunately though, things can often get lost in translation when dealing with kids (kind of like dealing with L).

When we first got in the car he said that he wanted to go to Max and Ruby‘s house. I’m thinking that is some school friend of his (BOY WAS I WRONG), so I say “maybe next time I will get their address and we will go see them” and he goes “I have an address“.

Knowing miss just-in-case-something-happens Gwen and knowing how smart Miles is, I wasn’t too shocked that he said he knew his address (I was actually thinking “figures”). So I asked him what it was. And he responds “Red” then I start laughing and say “you mean you have a red dress?” And he looks at me like I am crazy.  Lost in translation

I found out later when I got home and started writing this that Max and Ruby aren’t friends of his from school at all (please see pic below)

Max and Ruby

Then he says something mega cute. He says “Mommy is at work. Is miss L at work?” Then I say yes, and he goes “Miss L is your friend! Can we call her?” I almost died with excitement!

SO! We get back from getting pizza and of course another Lightning McQueen car (Sorry G!  More books, less cars!  Got it now!) and Miles has a football, so I grab it and toss it to him and he catches it.  I immediately hit him as hard as I can (just kidding!!!) and tackle him to the ground as he is laughing hysterically.  He then throws the ball back at me and comes and tackles me.  “I just tangled you“, he says.  Lost in translation.

I go sit down and try to cool off on the couch and Miles comes and runs up to me and jumps on the couch and into my arms. I look at him and smile. Then he asks me the most basic of all questions.

Are you happy?

I thought about L.  I thought about my family.  My friends.  I looked at Miles and his big innocent eyes and his wide infectious smile without a fear or a care in the world.  Running around his house, laughing for the last 4 hours like every breath depended on it.  I look at my nephew in those brilliant eyes and say,

Yes I am”

No translation needed.

5 Responses to Adventures in parenting: Chapter 1: Lost in translation

  1. Trey says:

    Simply beautiful! I’m straight blessed to have you as my brother and to have L as my future sister.

    Miles is our super dude!

    Trey

  2. Gwen (Star of the Blog) says:

    I just finished crying! This is too precious for words. AND Miles and I made it to the blog! We are celebrities! Thanks for doing such a wonderful job babysitting and being an all-around great person! Love Gwen

  3. fizzgig says:

    its funny how kids can get to the heart of things with one simple question!

  4. Gwen (Star of the Blog) says:

    I just finished crying! This is too precious for words. AND Miles and I made it to the blog! We are celebrities! Thanks for doing such a wonderful job babysitting and being an all-around great person! Love Gwen

    P.S. We will probably need special seating at the wedding because of our celeb status!

  5. Gwen (Star of the Blog) says:

    I just finished crying! This is too precious for words. AND Miles and I made it to the blog! We are celebrities! Thanks for doing such a wonderful job babysitting and being an all-around great person! Love Gwen

    We will probably need special seating at the wedding because of our celeb status!

Leave a Reply

