Reasons to get married: Best friends become better friends

So, last night me and L went to the house of two of my best friends.  These two people who we will can Moa and Doa, have been my friends for nearly ten years.  Doa was one of the first people I ever met in college (thanks to video games) and Moa became a great friend because of an ex-girlfriend.

Well in the past year or so, we have all grown to become even closer and we all get along very well as a foursome.  Moa and L talk on a regular basis (and plan dates) and over the past two years Doa and I have gotten really close too (no thanks to him being a Cowboys fan and I a Redskins fan).

Back to last night, we all decided to have a taco night and hang out and have a good time.  We watched Madmen (great show) and played X Box and talked about the wedding and our futures (ultra boring stuff really).  Moa and Doa were recently married and are coming up on their one year anniversary in August and we will celebrate!

The main thing I noticed today and last night when we were hanging out is that these are friends for life!  I have a lot of friends that I know will be great friends and we will be close, but when you get into a relationship and a serious one at that, we tend to find out fast who our lifelong friends will be.

We suddenly stop spending time with certain people (not because we want to!) and we start hanging out with certain other people.  It’s just a natural growth that occurs.

I have many close friends that are at different stages in their lives.  And through this whole process, we have also grown closer as friends. And we all have different friendships.

The reason I am saying all of this is because two years ago, I did what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do it.  I hung out with whoever I wanted to, and I talked to whoever I wanted to.  I didn’t really care about very much dealing with the future.

Now, I have grown closer with people that I know I want to keep around as a part of our life.  I do what’s best for me and L. And I can’t help but think more about who I want my kids to be able to call Uncle and Aunt (even though they aren’t really uncles and aunts).

I think they call this growing up.  I think it is a beautiful part of life.  I am grateful that I don’t have to be the irresponsible G that I was at one point.  The life I dreaded and could never imagine living, is now the life I look forward to.

I”m not really sure what motive of this post is, but I think it is something that I just realized.  Something that I am proud of.  Something that I am excited about.  I love my friends, I love my family, I love my fiancée.  I’m only 27.

The best is yet to come!

One Response to Reasons to get married: Best friends become better friends

  1. fizzgigabyte says:

    hm guys like you are golden. Most people never realize these things! Props!

Leave a Reply

