Should I be worried?

Lately I’ve been getting a lot of people giving out warnings about the wedding planning process. I mean, it can’t be that bad right?!?!  “You’re going to argue! Just be prepared”

hmm…I mean, me and L haven’t really argued at all since we started dating.  Well there was one time, when I pretty much told her to stop crying.  I’ll never (EVER EVER EVER) make that mistake again.

Other than that one temporary lapse in judgment (checkpoints strike again), we haven’t really argued at all.  We have disagreed on things, but one thing that me and L do so well is talk (boy can she talk!).  I haven’t been very communicative in relationships of the past, and (big shocker) that haven’t worked out.  I decided to take a different approach with L and it (big shocker) has been amazing!

So now that people are warning me about the amount of arguing we are going to be doing, I’m semi-afraid! We have had discussions about the wedding planning where we didn’t agree on things, but we explained our feelings and we listened to each others concerns and worked it out.

I mean, when I told her that I wanted to put toaster ovens as the centerpieces and have everyone make Poptarts and Eggo‘s for appetizers, I thought the earth was going to implode.  Luckily, L chalked it all up to a joke, and I played along (i’ll bring up the idea of a hot plate and some Ramen noodles at a later date!)

I keep wondering if I should be afraid about this planning process.  Especially once prices start to be dropped, and extra things start to be requested that are unnecessary, like napkins.

Honestly though, I have to make sure to keep the communication game going and use the tiptoe technique a little more (Tiptoe technique – Starting off a sentence with “Baby, maybe…”).  Now that I think about it, there is so much I can screw up in the next few months:

  1. Registry (already started this sabotage mission!)
  2. Honeymoon (some places are $400-$600 a night!! How much is a tent and sleeping bag?)
  3. Guest list
  4. Wedding planning during football season (planning before noon on Saturdays and 1pm on Sundays are a must.  If the ACC plays on Thursday night, that day is out too)
  5. Wedding planning during Hockey season (that’s like 3 days a week that are out)
  6. Invitations and announcements (this just sounds mega expensive.  What are stamps now? like 2 bucks a piece?)
  7. Tux (I just have a bad feeling I will not plan well regarding this)
  8. Wedding music (She is corny different, I am cool.  No other way to put it)
  9. Video games vs. wedding planning (easy decision)

Maybe I need to order one of those 200 page wedding planners for myself.  Actually maybe I just need to tattoo a reminder on my hand.  It’s actually the same thing my dad told me to do regarding my mom when I was 10.

DO WHAT SHE ASKS, WHEN SHE ASKS IT!

5 Responses to Should I be worried?

  1. Trey says:

    Start singing “We Ain’t Never Scared” by Bone Crusher right now. However…and I do mean, HOWEVER….you do need to keep your head on a swivel (any one in sports or who has been in a wild crowd or at Best Buy during Christmas will understand this), be aware of your surroundings and the players involved at ALL times and keep doing what you’re doing by communicating openly and honestly with one another! The latter is the secret to having no limits on your relationship and getting through what can be one of the most stressful times in a relationship…wedding planning!

    By the way, I’ll take my 10-pack of noodles (beef flavor) as the wedding favor from guys…nothing like 2300 KILOS of sodium to start your life off together on the right foot!

    Here’s what wifey taught me….and I actually agree with:

    Spend good money on the invitations, as it’s the pre-cursor to a great event.

    As for the music, keep your audience in mind too…it won’t be a good look for anyone involved if our Big Mama is on the dance floor “backin’ that thang up” with her dress hiked slightly above her shins!

    Real talk…you might want to look into getting a fitted tux…you’ll look incredible and L will feel the same.

    That wedding list can simply get people jacked up! Proceed with caution, breathe and talk it out.

    Honeymoon…just make it special…not expensive….but memorable and special!

    Put wedding planning on a schedule and stick to it. During the off times, go do something else besides wedding planning.

    Gwen learned and then trained me to accept my assignments and I didn’t have to have it done by her date (which is…when I asked you to do something, what in heaven’s name made you think that I didn’t mean right this second!), but I had to have it done by a certain date.

    You two are doing just fine! One Love!

  2. fizzgigabyte says:

    fights? well only if you care about the wedding. You have to at least have one (hopefully only) wedding. You cant appreciate eloping the next time unless you do. Its so much work, and you dont remember much of it.

    ramon noodles, canned chili, and cheese, is the best delicacy, it should be on your menu!

  3. T says:

    Don’t even joke about the paper items. The save-the-date, invitations, table name cards and so much more, are the most fun to pick out. In regards to music, Rob and I decided to have “It’s the end of the world as we know it” by R.E.M. as we were introduced into the reception. Who needs all that yucky mushy stuff…this song just screamed marriage. 🙂

  4. Mr Yes says:

    @Mrs. Wilkerson!! – We have the entrance music all figured out! It’s going to be amazing!

    @Fizzgig – I’m pushing for the ramen now! I’ll have this daily blog to remind me of all of the planning I do and all of the work that goes into this “beautiful” day! I just checked and April 16th will be the first week of NHL Playoffs.

    @Trey – The playlist will be scrutinized and I must envision all of the guest dancing to each song. You are so right about the invitations too! First impressions mean so much!

  5. E says:

    Evites for wedding invites- 🙂

Leave a Reply

